Fashion

29 Nov

This Week in Fashion

It’s not only in my head.

It’s on my shirt.

Anya Martinez

'I beat anorexia-Talking T-Shirts-Fashion'

Hipsters and friends alike seem to love the talking t-shirt. You know, the T-shirts with the crazy quotations, the head turning proclamations and (most times) the liberal political statements.  Now in some cases, I think these shirts are the coolest thing. It’s a great fashion statement to share your ideas and opinions (or most times someone else’s), while wearing a funky tee. I myself self own a few, and there are definitely some I’d love to own in the future.

'PeepingTom-TakingTShirt-Fashion'

However, as in everything, there is always the line. In this case I suppose the line is; how far should freedom of speech really go? Fashion has always been a way for people to express themselves, but how many times have you seen a guy (or girl) wearing a T-shirt that made you just want to smack them? The other day, I saw a guy with a T-shirt saying “No means yes.” You see where I’m going with this? There are always those people who have to cross the line. What am I supposed to think about a guy who has that plastered upon his chest?

We’ve got to think people. I mean, it’s fun to have a few quirky quotes on our T-shirts, but is it really necessary to offend people? Think about the infamous “I beat anorexia” T-shirt. I’m sure there’s at least one person whose heart broke when he/she saw that. Or at least it brought up a few horrible memories.

'To err is human-Talking T-Shirts-Fashion'

All I’m saying is this. Even if we don’t want to accept it, there are limits to freedom of speech.  Next time you pull out that funny T-shirt, think to yourself… can I really hurt someone with this? If the answer’s yes, maybe just for today, you should rethink your wardrobe.

Leave a Reply

