Lifestyle

2 Feb

Cabin Fever

By: Samantha Dudhnath

I am completely stuck in cabin fever mode now.  I don’t know about you, but the slushy grossness of the dirty snow makes me nauseous, and the off gray sky is making me super depressed.  And it’s only February.  Without a doubt more snow is coming.  So what’s a girl/guy to do during this dark period?  Why not tap into your creative side.  Even if you say you’re not an artist, just go for it.  Don’t hold anything back.  Here are three ways I unleash my creative side:

smalllogo.jpg: Lebron James: 2Pac: Robert Gates: Naacp blasts Tea Party for 'racism': softball: Shopping

1.      Painting – I am more of an abstract painter kind of girl.  I go for all curvy, shapely designs, and paint my heart out.  Nothing is right or wrong when you paint from the heart.  If you are more of a bowl of fruit kind of person, go for it.

writing_cabinfever_fourfront1602

2.      Writing – I am a writer.  I don’t care what people say, or that I am studying graphic design.  My main love is writing, and I do it as often as possible.  There is an exercise I do to get the creative juices flowing.  I set a timer for five minutes and just start writing and don’t put my pen down until those five minutes are up.  Sometimes I get really awesome ideas or short stories, other times I end up with a list of grocery items.  But whatever, this exercise, in time, will help you become a better writer.

3.      Music – I listen to music ALL the time.  My iPod is my best friend forever, and wherever I go he is by my side.  Music helps me with my creativity.  I listen to all types of music from The Beatles, to Bright Eyes, to Taylor Swift, to She & Him.  All of these artists inspire me to create art.  Just one song lyric can unleash a side of me I never knew I had.  The next time you’re painting, blast some music and see what comes out on the canvas.

Painting, writing, and listening to music all help me get through this unpleasant phase called winter.  Why don’t you pick up a paint brush, a pencil, and blast iTunes and just unleash every emotion you are feeling.  Let your sensitive side out guys!

smalllogo.jpg: Lebron James: 2Pac: Robert Gates: Naacp blasts Tea Party for 'racism': softball: Shopping

Leave a Reply

